
Operator Training
Class A/B Operators

 An individual should have been trained and designated by October 13, 2018

 Responsible for
 Registration & Financial Assurance

 Understanding the sites equipment including: corrosion protection, release 
detection monitoring, spill/overfill equipment, maintain records for equipment 
testing

 Trained to respond to emergencies

 Can be the owner/operator/employee or a hired individual

 No limit to the number of sites

 Does not have to be onsite

 Trains the Class C operator



How do I become an AB operator?

 Complete the UST webinar – Rutgers Continuing Education
 http.www.cpe.Rutgers.edu/brochures/intros/ust-AB.html

 Pass the ICC test

 Complete a course and pass the exam from one of the states currently on the 
reciprocity list:

Colorado, Connecticut, Kansas, Michigan, New Hampshire, Puerto Rico, and West 
Virginia



How do I designate an AB operator?

 Complete the UST Registration & Billing Questionnaire with AB operator 
information.

 Provide a copy of the passing ICC test or the paperwork of completion from 
the reciprocal state.

 Include the ENTIRE tank insurance policy

 Mail to:

Bureau of Case Assignment & Initial Notice
Site Remediation and Waste Management Program
NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection
401-05H
PO Box 420
Trenton, NJ 08625-0420



What happens if I don’t have a Class AB 
operator designated on my registration?
 The sites UST Registration renewal will not be issued 

 Currently in the renewal period: Burlington and Mercer Counties – expire 3/31/19

 Next renewal period: Union County – expire 6/30/19

 A Notice of Violation will be issued – 30 day grace period

 Field Notice of Violation issued during an inspection

 Office Notice of Violation mailed to sites Owner & Operator – approx. 2,500 sites

 Working backwards from the furthest renewal date (Middlesex, Essex and 
Morris)

 Failure to comply with the Notice of Violation within 30 days may result in a delivery 
ban and/or formal administrative enforcement actions including penalties



Class C Operator
 At least 1 Class C must be onsite when the site is operating; unless site is 

unmanned

 Trained by the AB operator:
 Who to call in the event of an emergency –

 Owner/Operator/UST contractor/DEP Hotline

 What to do / who to call for monitoring system alarms

 Owner/Operator/UST Contractor

 How to shut down the system in an emergency

 Location of and how to use the emergency spill kit

 Training is documented by the AB in a logbook kept onsite, training will be 
evaluated by a DEP inspector during an inspection.

 Failure to have a Class C will result in a Notice of Violation; 30 day grace period to 
get someone trained/retrained



Unmanned Facilities
No Class C required

 No attendant at location during operational hours:

 Emergency generator & heating oil tanks

 Public Work Yards

 Self-serve company fleets

 Facilities that receive after hour deliveries

 Post Emergency Information Sign – visible from fill ports and dispensers



Unmanned Sign Information

 Emergency Number for local police and fire departments

 DEP Hotline (877) WARN-DEP

 Name and Phone number for person responsible during emergency

 Owner/Operator/AB Operator

 UST Contractor

 LSRP

 Signs should have been posted by January 2019

 New tank systems signs posted during installation





Retraining

 At the discretion of the DEP inspector

 Minor violations – example: water in spill buckets - phone call or onsite 
training with DEP inspector

 Major violation – examples: not having operational leak detection or cathodic 
protection mechanisms, failing to respond to alarms or active discharges –
onsite training or may require full retraining of the AB (class and test)

 Retraining must be completed within 30 days from the date the Department 
advises the facility of significant or repetitive violations



14-day Notice
14dayUSTnotice@dep.nj.gov

 Responsibility of the Owner/Operator

 Contractor can send notification on their behalf

 Notifications are sent at least 14 days prior to the start of work date:

 Installation – tanks/lines

 Closure – tanks/lines

 Any time a sub-modification permit is required

 Stage 2 decommissioning

 Vapor Recovery Testing

 14-days after decommissioning – including PEI checklist & Stage 1 testing

 Vapor Test FAIL (within 72 hours of a test failure)



Notification includes:
 PI number

 Site name and address

 Site contact information – name and phone number

 Contractor – name and phone number

 Start date of work

 Type of work to be done

Emergency Work
 Notification must be sent within 14 days of work done; include reason for 

emergency work and work completed to correct the issue.



New Testing Requirements
1st round was due by Oct. 13, 2018

 Annual Testing:

 Monitoring System Certification – including ATG probes, 
interstitial sensors and high level alarm

 Positive shut-down verification, if site is using low-level 
sump testing

 3 year testing:

 Overfill certification – flapper shut-off valves & ball floats

 Spill bucket testing

 Containment testing – STPs and UDC where interstitial 
monitoring is used



Interstitial Monitoring – do I have to??
Yes, you do, if…

 Tanks OR Lines – installed on or after September 4, 1990

 Tanks OR Lines – installed before September 4, 1900 and were using or were 
registered as using interstitial monitoring as of January 16, 2018.



Interstitial at the 
UDC for FRP lines

Containment Boot is OPEN
Allowing fuel to drain back to STP 
sump, 30 day UDC inspection and 
log are required.

Containment Boot is 
CLOSED
Site must install and 
maintain liquid sensor in UDC

UDC

STP

Disp 1/2

UDC

Disp 3/4



Interstitial at UDC for FLEX

1 Dispenser - follow rules for FRP

2 or more dispensers – needs sensors 
at UDC; or provide documented 
proof of 0.2 gph leak rate 
compliance

ADD pic of flex 
lines

UDC UDC UDC

STP



Under Dispenser Containment (UDC)
 UST system shall be equipped with under-dispenser containment (UDC) for any 

new dispenser system installed on or after April 11, 2016.

 A dispenser is considered new both the dispenser and the equipment needed 
to connect the dispenser to the UST system are installed.

 Equipment necessary to connect the dispenser to the UST includes check 
valves, shear valves, unburied risers, flexible connectors or other transitional 
components that are beneath the dispenser and connect the dispenser to the 
underground piping.



Containment Testing
Piping sumps, STP sumps, UDCs and Spill Buckets

 All spill buckets no continuously monitored via pressure, vacuum or liquid

 Required for all sumps & UDCs where interstitial monitoring is required

 Within 30 days of installation

 1st round deadline Oct. 13, 2018 for existing systems

 DEP allowed for an extension – April 13, 2019

 3 years thereafter

 After April 13, 2019, sites not tested will receive a Notice of Violation and 
penalty assessments.



Testing and Failures

 Testing must be done by a UST contractor certified in tank testing or 
installation.

 Containment failure – site must repair/replace/retest within 30 days

 Repair/replace deadline can be extended with a signed ACO

 Spill bucket failure – immediately take out of service = no deliveries !!

 Slip on spill buckets – for temporary repairs (30 days or longer with ACO)

 Environmental investigation is required

 $35,000 penalty if a delivery is taken to a failing spill bucket



Hydrostatic Testing Options

Full Test
 Sump is tested to 4 inches above 

the highest penetration or seam

Low-level Test
 Sump is tested to 4 inches above 

height where positive shutdown 
will trigger 

 Positive shutdown must shut off 
STP, not only a dispenser

 Positive shutdown must be 
maintained and certified annually
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